Apples to Apples

Solar + battery · 3 bids · ZIP 92008 · sample data

Your bid comparison

Each bid has been mapped into the Apples to Apples Bid Standard. Orange marks something missing or worth questioning.

BID A

Coastline Solar Co.

License active
$38,950 $3.00/W solar
Bid completeness18 of 20 items

1 item to ask about · 6 miles from you · 14 years in business

BID B

Brightline Energy

License active
$41,700 $3.40/W solar
Bid completeness17 of 20 items

2 red flags · 22 miles from you · 3 years in business

BID C

SunValue Direct

No license # on bid
$34,500 Not itemized
Bid completeness9 of 20 items

5 red flags · 80 miles from you · 1 year in business

Line by line

Bid Standard item A · Coastline B · Brightline C · SunValue
CONTRACTOR
CSLB license#[LIC-A] · Active, C-10 / C-46#[LIC-B] · Active, C-46Not on bid
Years in business1431
Disciplinary actionsNone on record1 citation (2025)Can’t check without license #
SYSTEM
Solar size7.6 kW DC8.0 kW DC7.2 kW DC
Panels19 × [Brand] 400 W20 × [Brand] 400 WBrand & model not listed
InverterMicroinverters, [Model]String + optimizers, [Model]Not listed
Battery13.5 kWh10.0 kWh13.5 kWh, brand not specified
Est. yearly production11,800 kWh12,300 kWhNot stated
SCOPE
Permits & inspectionIncludedIncludedNot stated
Main panel upgradeExcluded, possible extra costIncludedNot stated
Exclusions listedYes, 4 itemsYes, 2 itemsNone listed
PRICE & PAYMENT
Solar portion$22,800 · $3.00/W$27,200 · $3.40/WNot itemized
Battery portion$16,150$14,500Not itemized
Down payment$1,000$5,000, above CA limit$1,000
WARRANTY & TIMELINE
Workmanship warranty25 years10 yearsNot stated
Install timeline6–8 weeks4–6 weeksNot stated

Questions to ask before you sign

BID A · COASTLINE

Will my home need a main panel upgrade, and what would it cost?

BID B · BRIGHTLINE

Can the down payment be reduced to the $1,000 limit? What was the 2025 citation for?

BID C · SUNVALUE

What is your CSLB license number? Which panels, inverter and battery are included, and what does the workmanship warranty cover?

Where they’re based

[Map: your home + 3 contractor pins]
A · 6 miB · 22 miC · 80 mi

Contract-verified reviews

Read reviews from homeowners who uploaded a signed contract with each of these contractors.

See reviews